Praying The Rosary

As part of our work on Journeys, this week we are learning more about Mary’s journey with Jesus.

During the liturgical year there are many feast days set aside to remember and celebrate the journey of Mary. Mary’s journey had joys and sorrows. Mary was with Jesus during his journey on earth from the beginning to the end. The Church especially remembers Mary in May and in October thinks of the Rosary.

The Mysteries of the Rosary show the steps or stages in the life journey of Jesus and Mary. Some are joyful, some sad, some full of light and some glorious. Look at the rosary below, if you hover over the picture it will lead you through it, with a focus on The Joyful Mysteries. Each set of 10 beads is for thinking about one of the Mysteries while praying 10 Hail Marys. Each large bead is for praying the Our Father at the beginning and the Glory Be at the end. Our Lady is also honoured by special feast days eg:

Mary, the holy Mother of God – 1st January
The Annunciation of the Lord – 25th March
The Visitation of the Blessed Virgin Mary – 31st May
The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary – 15th August
The Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, (Mary’s birthday)- 8th September
The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary –8th December

Key Questions

Sometimes Mary is called Our Lady. Why do you think she has this title?

What do you know about any of these feast days? 

Why is Mary so honoured by these special days?

Thanks to Camp Catholic for this link!




  1. Mary is called Our Lady because she is the mother of Jesus Christ.
    The visitation was when the Angel Gabriel was sent from God to tell Mary she will have a son and he will be called Jesus.
    Mary is honoured on these feast days because she was a special lady who was chosen by God to be the mother of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.